Sabbath Reflections

But Ruth replied, “Don’t urge me to leave you or to turn back from you. Where you go I will go, and where you stay I will stay. Your people will be my people and your God my God. Where you die I will die, and there I will be buried. May the LORD deal with me, be it ever so severely, if even death separates you and me.” Ruth 1:16-17

It’s interesting that Ruth didn’t say your YAHWEH my God… instead saying your God my God. Well that was just something to ponder! But its a book in the bible that talks about her loyalty both to Naomi (her mum-in-law) and to God. It further illustrates the provision she receives despite difficult times (her dad-in-law and husband past away and being a foreigner in Naomi’s hometown) and how she was redeemed and transformed from just being a normal Moabite woman to being a significant piece in the genealogy from King David to Jesus.

The question to ask is whether we are still able to trust God even in times when the water rocks our boat? Can we be like Ruth and deal with the issues of life and with the faith & hope, and still stand and say, “God, I chose to go where you lead me”?

Surrender what we have (insecurities, pride, our strengths, etc) and be broken before God. Be assured to know that when you seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. (Matthew 6:33)

I guess writing this post is also a reminder for me to also not lose hope in times when I’m stressed out, possibly a new year goal I have to set. Especially for the coming school semester, its my final year for my bachelor’s, there is quite a lot of work to do and also to prepare my thesis (gosh time do past fast!), church and other commitments. But I need to learn to trust the Lord that He has all good things worked out for me. Even if it means going down a tough road.

Leave a Reply

