A Cupcake for Thoughts

My first baking session with my cell girls taught me quite a bit even as I reflected back. Not just from them but also about baking cupcakes. Interestingly, it dawned on me that the last I baked with friends was when I was at their age.
 

 
“Whatever you do, do well…” Ecclesiastes 9:10
 
One of them gave instructions, another went hand-ons to whip the mixture, or make the icing- everyone had a part to play. At some point, it became a tag team, taking turns to try something new. In baking, it is about getting into act and being part of it. Likewise in any group setting, for a camp or project team it is also the same. After all, Together Everyone Achieves More (T-E-A-M). Here, I saw the initiative of each of the girls and how they had the spirit of excellence to do the cupcakes in a nice fashion.
 
 
“But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently” Romans 8:25
 
Moreover like any baked stuff, cupcakes need a crucial amount of time to cool before the icing is placed on top. If you try to rush and put the icing, it will not stick and you will just have melted runny icing on your cupcake. Patience was really key. Sometimes, we want things fast. Like real-time fast. There was an instance I wanted an answer from God, but He knew that if the answer was immediately given, I would not have come to a point of desiring to seek Him deeper and patiently awaiting for His reply in His Time.
 
 
But out of all this, doing something and completing it does gives us a sense of achievement. From a plain and bare cupcake, and then jazzing up with icing, its really a change! One thing I know for sure, I am so glad I had the chance to do these with the girls and also to have blessed others out of their socks with the cupcakes. Though out of the excitement of giving, I forgot to try one for myself. But after all its blessed to give than to receive.
 
 
Planning for my next baking escapade.
 
 

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A Cupcake for Thoughts

  1. mydearbakes says:

    This looks so yummy! How I wish I can do something like that =)

Leave a Reply

