Dissertation Raider


 
This holiday ain’t no holiday. It is the time for architecture students to work on their dissertation. What is this dissertation you might ask? Its a 10,000 word research on a topic chosen by the student as a part of the Master’s requirement. 10,000 seems like a Goliath to me and more so trying to research on a topic to write about is something that I really need God’s wisdom and a tad of creative juices.
 
A couple of months back, I recalled looking through some of my seniors’ dissertations. After the cover page, every dissertation had this single page which to me was a teaser to the academic paper.
 
It was an “Acknowledgement Page”.
 
If actors stood on stage to thank everyone who made their Oscar win a reality, this acknowledgement page was of that sort. Each student wrote down who they wanted to thank, a majority wrote their parents, family members, names of friends and tutors who have supported and helped them in this journey of writing this paper. There was even the amusing one who thanked FIFA World Cup for the entertainment during those sleepless nights! But more so, I am encouraged by those who wrote on the first line, “I thank God for…”
 
To me, it does speak volumes on the student who wrote that. It is a declaration of the faithfulness and goodness of God. Plus, the fact that this dissertation will be published in hard copy for the library and posted on the internet, many others will get to read of that testimony.
 
Off the head, I wonder who I shall write in my acknowledgement page, but thanking God would definitely be the first.
 
 

 
Totally relate to this comic. I will be a tomb raider in search for some hidden nuggets of research.
 
 

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

