Failure: The beginning of something more


 

“It’s common sense to take a method and try it. If it fails, admit it frankly and try another. But above all, try something.”Franklin D. Roosevelt

 
 
Making cream puffs last Friday has thought me quite a bit. Doing it together with Yvonne, this first attempt showed me that failure is only a part of the process of experimentation. I would say that I’m quite a perfectionist when it comes to making something; down to the presentation and details. But when things (in this case baking) goes slightly out of course, the perceived standard of how things will be, changes.
 
For one, I over whipped the cream and it became unusable clumpy curds. I felt horrible that I wasted everything. Especially when I paid through my own pocket and had compared it to the same whip I had used in my tiramisu previously. The second bottle (buying while battling the rain) still did not rise as much to be made into the filling. Coupled with this, the baked puff came out decent but many stuck to the baking sheet or crumbled. And while trying to fill some of the empty puffs yesterday, some had turned hard. And the cream would not harden.
 
This got me bummed out that it was a failed attempt, as I had wish to bring some to let others try. But a part of me did not want to, out how how the state of how the puffs were and the kind of comments I would get from it (when the harshest critic is sometimes myself).
 

“I have not failed. I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.”Thomas Edison

 
 
But there is a learning point here. Failure is not the end of the journey. I like how Roosevelt and Edison puts it across. They were prolific in their own fields but it did not come instant. There was definitely lots of setbacks and failures before where they got to- Roosevelt, who was the 32nd president of America had led the country through the economic depression and war; Edison, the inventor of the light bulb. Even after they got to the epiphany of their successes, I am not surprised if they had other failures too.
 
The question is how are we able to deal with the failures in our life? Here’s a simple illustration- If you trip and fall to the ground, you cannot possibly continue to sit on the floor and cry/mop/whine about falling. You would immediately pick yourself up or someone would extend a hand to pull you up. Failures might cause us to trip and fall but we need to stand up and continue walking.
 
Maybe it does not have to be in this instance of baking. It can come in different forms; your school work, relationships with friends or family, etc. Reflecting back, the Lord was teaching me through this baking experience. In times when I fail, God is realigning me to look towards Him and carry on walking, persevering hand in hand with Him. If not, how would I be able to run with horses? (Jeremiah 12) Another point was also about sacrifice and how it will cost me something. Here, it was time and money (But that can be for another post).
 

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26

 
 
*And now a whole batch of ‘not so perfect’ cream puffs sits in my fridge. Since shelf life of these cream puffs are really short, I would love for people to try it within the next two days! If you are willing, appreciate lots if you can find me to give you one. (:
 
 
Attempt 2 will be soon!
 
 

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

