You Matter

“In your anger do not sin: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, and do not give the devil a foothold. Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need. Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”

Ephesians 4:26-29


What was supposed to be a concerned gesture to comment on something turned out to make my good friend feel offended by what was said. As the conversation continued, I was taken aback and hurt how I felt questioned for my lack of trust over the matter. At that point few things could have happened;

  1. Get angry and just defend my reason
  2. Humble myself and apologise for being wrong
  3. Just ignore 

It felt like no. 1 and 3 could have been an easy way out to just prove that I am in the right. But since the day before, Ephesians 4 was something that I had to keep meditating on. I paused then, knowing then that apologising was what I had to do.

Truly, I am sorry for what I said. I am only human with failings. Maybe it was on my part that I failed to be mindful of what I said and it came across as harsh and not considered it from your point of view.  I do not want this conversation to put a wedge in the friendship and end up both parties feeling misjudged and miscommunicated.

To the friends and people I love and cherish, know that I will fight to defend for you. Maybe I do not express it in the same manner as others do by showing it publicly or being very verbal, but I hope that you know that I am behind you all the way and to uphold God’s commandment to love one another. Because my friendship with you matter.

Leave a Reply

